Just read ---> this article <--- from a design perspective that talks about it taking 10 years to become an expert.

Of course some people never actually become an expert because they don't have the 'talent' or 'drive'.

For testers what do you find is perhaps an average time to become an expert? (If average exists!)

And what do we need to do as testers to become one?

Views: 214

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I don't know what an expert designer is.
And I'm not sure I know what an expert tester is.

I've been at it for almost 20 years - am I an expert? (shrug)
I do know that I still learn something almost every day.

Perhaps I'm a slow learner, and some day in the future I'll say to myself "today I am an expert".
Perhaps I'll never become an expert, lacking tha talent or drive (or that key Certification exam).
Or perhaps I'm already an expert and just don't know it.

Some labels (like "expert"?) are best bestowed by others.
I do admit I don't really like the term 'expert'. The same goes with words like 'guru'.

In real life when I do stuff I tend to say things like 'I know how to do that' or 'I can do that'. I don't think in my head that I'm an expert, just that I can do it and do it well.
I find it's easier to consider that I have expertise in certain areas than to consider myself an expert... is that just semantics?

Another angle is to take the opinion of others rather than judging yourself and by that method, Joe, I'd say you're an expert.
"Some labels (like "expert"?) are best bestowed by others."

Exactly - cough cough ;)
And there you have it!

At least one other person thinks you are an expert.
I believe that one of the key things a tester needs to do to become an expert is to have an active interest in the field of testing out-with their day job.